top of page


The Society was established in 1968 by a group of immunologists from various universities, research institutes and hospitals. The aim of the society is to encourage the discipline of Immunology in Israel and to provide a network to exchange information. The current members of IIS hold a PhD or a MD and are actively engaged in immunological research. The IIS is affiliated with the Israel Society of Clinical Immunology and with Israel Society of Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics. IIS is also a member of ILANIT, an organization comprised with all life science societies in Israel. The IIS is run by 9 councilors who are elected by its members from universities, hospitals and biotechnological companies for a 2 year term. The executive of the council is made up from the president and secretary general. 


Former Presidents of IIS

The scientists who served as IIS presidents since its inauguration are: Prof. Michael Sela (1968-1972), Prof. Michael Feldman (1972-1976), Prof. Michael Schlesinger (1976-1982), Prof. Irun Cohen (1982-1985), Prof. Isaac Witz (1985-1989), Prof. Schraga Segal (1989-1992), Prof. Chaya Moroz (1992-1996), Prof. Ron Apte (1996-1998), Prof. Lea Eisenbach (1998-2001) Prof. Eitan Yefenof (2001-2002), Prof. Noah Isakov (2002-2004), Prof. Benjamin Sredni (2004-2006) , Prof. Ronen Alon (2008-2010), Prof. Amos Etzioni (2010-2012), Prof. Angel Porgador (2012-2014), Prof. Idit Shachar (2014-2017), Prof. Mira Barda-Saad (2017-2020).


The Annual Meeting

The first obligation of the IIS is to organize a yearly congress which is held in rotation at The Weizmann Institute of Science, The Hebrew University in Jerusalem, Bar-Ilan University, University of Haifa, Tel-Aviv University, Ben-Gurion University and the Technion. The program includes presentation of data and poster sessions.


International IIS

In 1969, the IIS was among the 10 societies that founded the International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS) in Brugge, Belgium.
In 1975 The IIS joined the European Federation of Immunological Societies (EFIS) and from 1995 IIS has an observer status with The Federation of Immunological Societies of Asia-Oceania (FIMSA).
IIS members who had the privilege to serve as officials of the IUIS and of EFIS include: Michael Sela - IUIS councilor (1971-74), IUIS vice-president (1974-77), IUIS president (1977-80). Michael Feldman-IUIS councilor (1974-77). Ruth Arnon- IUIS councilor (1977-83, 1992-98), IUIS Secretary-General (1989-92), EFIS vice presi- dent (1980-83), EFIS president (1983-86), EFIS past-president (1986-1989). Isacc Witz- IUIS councilor (1986-89). Zvee Bentwich- clinical immunology committee chairmen (1989-92). Israel Pecht-EFIS vice president (1992-95), EFIS president (1995-98), EFIS past-president (1998-2000)

 IIS Leadership -   Committee Members 

President: Prof. Amiram Ariel

Haifa University 


Treasurer/VP: Prof. Roi Gazit

Ben-Gurion University of the Negev


Prof. Mira Barda-Saad

Bar-Ilan University


Dr. Lior Carmon

Biopharma Investment and Management



Prof. Zvi Fishelson

Tel-Aviv University


Prof. Ofer Mandelboim

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem


Prof. Doron Melamed



Prof. Angel Porgador

Ben-Gurion University of the Negev


Prof. Idit Shachar

Weizmann Institute of Science


bottom of page